Review – Darn Good Yarn Silk Ribbon & Chiffon Ribbon

Today I am writing about a sweater kit I recently ordered from Darn Good Yarn, “a wholesaler and retailer of original recycled yarns, clothing and home goods.”

The kit is for a sweater knit with their Reclaimed Sari Silk Ribbon.  There are several links to yarn by this name on their site, but they all say, “Vintage silk saris are first torn by hand into quarter inch strips, then sewn together to make this wonderful recycled sari silk yarn.”

Now, I love recycling and reuse.

I love companies that emphasize fair trade, or help out impoverished people, especially women.

I love great big stitches.

So this thing looked PERFECT.

Until I got started.

So far I have wound two out of the five skeins that came with my kit.  Now I am sorely disappointed at the amount of time I have spent UNTYING KNOTS and the amount of time I am going to have to spend SEWING STRIPS TOGETHER in order to end up with what I thought I was ordering.

 

2016-03-06 20.27.44

Here’s what I have after untying every knot I found along the way:  the largest of all those little balls is 32 grams, out of two 100-gram skeins.

 

They have a 30-day return policy, and I placed my order in early December, but am only just now getting around to winding this yarn — so it would seem I am out of luck there.

In the interest of completeness, I also ordered some Chiffon Ribbon Color Packs, and these did not have the same issue with knots.  The biggest issue I have with those is that I keep trying different combinations together for the arm-knit scarf, and have yet to get something that I’m really excited about, even after half-a-dozen tries.  But that’s probably more about me than the yarn.  A friend bought the Arm Knit Scarf Kit instead, and got a really great-looking combination of yarns!

Additionally, I had some issues with the loyalty program (“karma points”).  It seems I did not create an account with my first order, although I thought I did.  When I went back to look at some other goodies (before I found all these knots!), I wasn’t able to log in.  I emailed them and found out that (a) I did not actually create an account on that first order and (b) they said there was no way to credit the $180 I had just spent to a new account.

Hmmm.  That’s karma for you.

I wanted so much to like this yarn.  I was even looking forward to becoming an affiliate.  The Chiffon Ribbon seems fine, but unfortunately, I’m really disappointed in the Silk Ribbon.

  14 comments for “Review – Darn Good Yarn Silk Ribbon & Chiffon Ribbon

  1. Ingrid
    03/18/2016 at 10:54 PM

    So sorry Tess. Such a bummer when things aren’t what we thought it would be. It’s how we learn isn’t?

  2. penandra
    04/06/2016 at 3:34 AM

    Just found your blog (following a Pinterest link). Thanks for the heads up on this yarn. Their ads show up on my FB page fairly regularly. Often enough that I’ve been tempted. If the problem with the yarn wasn’t enough to put me off, your experience with them being unwilling to give you karma points for a $180 purchase sealed the deal. Thanks! I’ll be exploring your blog.

    • 04/06/2016 at 8:38 AM

      Hey, always glad to help a fellow knitter (or crafter?). I plan to write additional posts as I continue the project, but I go pretty slow. One thing I need to add is that the other three skeins were not nearly as bad as the first two I wound. (They each had a few knots, though. Three knots was the fewest I found.) Beginner’s luck? 😛

      But if you’re curious, the arm kit scarf kit with the CHIFFON ribbon yarn is something neither I nor my friends had trouble with. And I think they are currently BOGO with a coupon code.

      The blog is a little messy these days as I am trying to clean up years’ worth of “stuff”. I’m (slowly!) reposting the good stuff so stay tuned!

  3. Maggie P.
    07/03/2016 at 5:21 PM

    I too made the mistake of purchasing from this site. My order arrived 45 days after it was placed. The items were not the size I ordered or the colours I requested. After numerous emails and voicemails, I was finally promised a return label, which never appeared. Thankfully, I used PayPal and opened a complaint. PayPal will refund my purchase price after I return the merchandise at my expense. So glad Darn Good Yarn believes in Karma or maybe they use the word as bait. What goes around always comes around. Stay far away from these hacks! Customer service is not in their business plan.

    • Laurel
      08/18/2016 at 6:27 PM

      I ordered skirts from Darn Good Yarn on July 20th. When I emailed 15 days later, they said the orders were stuck in customs.
      When I tried to view my order status after that email, they said that they had changed web sites and I wouldn’t be able to track any orders made before that date. Not only can I not track my order, it says my order doesn’t exist anymore.
      The lady I spoke with assured me that my order was still valid and that it would ship out on 15 August. It still hasn’t arrived.
      I would like to say something nice about this site or their skirts, but I can’t because I haven’t received the products I ordered! Their customer service isn’t quick to respond, they aren’t nice and they definitely aren’t helpful.
      I do not recommend that anyone purchased anything from this company.

      • Crystal Lauver
        08/28/2016 at 3:12 PM

        Oh I am having similar issues. They received their money via PayPal a month ago and when I email them I receive strange responses that don’t really answer my questions. Do you have a record of what I ordered? When can I expect what I ordered? And why do you tell me it will ship by the end of the week and it is over a week later and I still don’t have anything. And why do you send me four emails a day asking me to support displaced people in India when You can’t convince me that that funds you took form me before have resulted in anything but my frustration. So disappointed!!

  4. Nancy
    08/30/2016 at 6:42 AM

    This company is awful. They operate a under a delusion that they are fair trade. They are not. They also at times send out emails trying to raise money for disaster relief saying they will donate 100% of profits for said amount of time- it is a lie 100%, they use it as a marketing ploy and only donate a small fraction of the sales. They do not have an outside company overseeing there claims that they make.. It is all lies. One day there dishonesty will catch up with them.

  5. Tammy
    09/16/2016 at 2:34 PM

    Darn good yarn, but not a darn good company
    I have had one heck of a time trying to exchange a skirt I bought from this company. I ordered a berry flower print skirt and received an orange and green checkered skirt. I dont like it at all and asked if I could exchange it. The website is not functioning so I had to call repeatedly to reach someone.They told me to put in an order for an exchange, and that would not work either, they are in the process of updating their web sight, apparently, as evidenced also by how their reviews disappeared!
    So finally e mailing someone at the company, I find out I have to pay all of shipping and handling fees as well as a seven dollar charge from them, costing me $17 just to exchange a skirt that they made the mistake with!!!! WOW, what kind of company is this- thinking of calling the better business beauro. After days of trying to communicate, Ive had it!

  6. Bonita Fisher
    12/13/2016 at 11:00 AM

    “Darn good yarn is not a darn good company.”
    I too had to learn the hard way – so much puff and fluff, mechanical responses to emails and not a twit of customer “service.” SILK sari skirts are either lovely – or horrid, solid color UGLY polyester – seriously! And then they want me to pay to have those shipped back. 3 Christmas gifts aI am scrambling at last minute to replace. Serious ugliness.
    DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!!!

  7. Beth
    02/05/2017 at 6:26 AM

    Darn Good Yarn – Classic Yarn Bowl
    I have mixed feelings about this experience in purchasing this yarn bowl.
    The original order was placed on January 18, 2017 and was paid in full on the same day via PayPal. I received an order confirmation from Darn Good Yarn as well as a receipt for my payment on this order to Darn Good Yarn.
    On January 26, 2017 I received another order confirmation with the same order number as the original order on January 18, 2017. I thought a shipping confirmation would follow as the original order states 4-6 days flat rate shipping.
    I was also messaged through Facebook messenger confirming my order explaining the delays and confirming shipping.
    I have since found this same bowl on line for $24.99 and $34.50 and I paid $38.50. The bowl does measure 5 inches in diameter but is only 2 inches deep and not 2.5 inches deep.
    I received my bowl on February 02, 2017. The bowl itself is pretty nice and although there are a few nicks on the top edge, I sort of believe that this is due to it being handmade and this it only gives it character. Although it took a while to get here the company did keep in touch, but some of it to me was long winded excuses and perhaps they just do not have inventory. The order was not to be expected for another two to three weeks and yet I received tracking information the next day. I am confused at why this is such a long and confusing process. I blame myself for not reading reviews first.
    Communication – their email address @sales seems to be an invalid email address as my email came back as Delivery failure, also the communication I received through Facebook messenger was mostly auto responses that did not answer my questions.
    Their website appears to be down. I agree with the above – DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!

  8. Martha Sutterer
    02/07/2017 at 12:36 PM

    I signed up for the yarn subscription club at DARN GOOD YARN. I joined Dec. 29, and the first shipment was supposed to go out on Jan. 20. Not only have I not received my FIRST ORDER, I have now been charged for February’s shipment. They have no trouble charging my paypal account, but I don’t know what they are doing with the money! I have sent multiple complaints and emails, but all I hear back is that shipment is delayed because of the women in foreign countries making the product. Well …. they either need to get more staff, or stop their false advertising claims that the product will ship out quickly. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED.

    • Beth
      02/09/2017 at 4:10 PM

      This is a message I received on Facebook messenger. To me this is a long winded excuse for poor planning. The only reason I am posting again is because this explanation mentions various reasons why they cannot supply.

      Hi Karen,

      Thanks so much for reaching out about your order. So here’s a little update as to what’s going on. Our initial delay was because we had a bit of a quality issue and then we ran into a bit of a customs issue. The most unfortunate thing is that in working with these cooperatives, a mission we feel incredibly called to and drawn to, is that we are often at their mercy, causing us to wait. It can be frustrating on both ends, but it is a risk we take in employing those we know would otherwise not be able to provide for their families so we do it with a smile. But, I fully expect your order to be shipping out within 2-3 weeks at the latest. As soon as it does we will email you confirmation that it has shipped and if for any reason something changes, we will email you with an update. Thanks so much for your patience and support.

      Thanks so much, Karen!

  9. stacy
    05/16/2017 at 11:45 AM

    I’ve had terrible experiences with this company too. I got fooled by the buy 2 get 3 free Sari “Silk” (quotes mine because I doubt they are actual silk) skirt special. First off I’m not sure they are silk because two of the skirts had a label that said “100% viscose”. I asked about that and was told that the wrong label was put on the skirt. The order came with 1 skirt the wrong size and one badly damaged with tons of paint splatters. It took multiple e-mails to get them to finally send replacements for the two skirts. One was ok the other had brown stains all over it. They replaced it again with a skirt that had pulls and holes all over it. They say they will be sending out yet another skirt…who knows what I’ll get next. They ignore e-mails for days if not weeks and they do not post reviews less than 4 stars on their website. I know because I submitted a fair and honest review with 2 stars about a week ago and it still hasn’t shown up on their site. I filtered the reviews on their site and a less than 4 star review hasn’t been posted since something like June or July of 2016…I call BS just based on my experience with them.

    • 05/16/2017 at 12:06 PM

      Ugh. Well we can balance things out I guess. At least we know we are not alone in our experiences. :/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *